For inserting a easy or also one external Excel -Tabel there are several options in PowerPoint 2010. In order to be able to work optimally from the beginning, however, it is advisable to pay attention to a few things. Two examples are intended to show how a table can be integrated into a presentation with just a few clicks.
1. Insert a simple table
At first glance, inserting a table using the "Table" button seems like the fastest method. However, inserting a table using this method requires quite a bit of follow-up work.
The following method is better :
Pressing Ctrl+M inserts a new slide. A PowerPoint placeholder is then positioned in the center of this slide.

Clicking the table icon first prompts you for the number of columns and rows , and then inserts the table evenly across the entire width from the top left of the layout grid .

This eliminates the need for tedious rework.
Align table values optimally within a cell
Once you've populated a table with values, you can control their arrangement. By default, PowerPoint aligns numbers and text in a table to the left and at the top . For a better appearance, you can first center the values vertically . After selecting the content, you can do this via Table Tools > Layout > Alignment.

To ensure ones are aligned with ones and tens with tens, numbers should generally be right- aligned. To keep them centered in the column , the right inner margin can be adjusted using custom page margins .

The best way to adjust the page margins is in small increments, using the preview button to see the changes immediately. The entire table must always be selected beforehand.

2. Insert an external Excel table
If you already have a table set up in Excel , you can of course insert it into the presentation. Go to the Insert tab and select the Object button.

The "Create from file" link allows you to specify the path to the existing Excel file.

The " Link " checkbox can be selected if the inserted table should update automatically . Any changes made in Excel will then be reflected simultaneously in the presentation. To make changes to the table directly in PowerPoint , double-click the table.

If you want to do without the gridlines in the Excel table , you must hide them in Excel 2010 under the View tab > Gridlines .
